Philosophy of education

Behind every school and every teacher is a set of related beliefs, a Teaching Philosophy that influences what and how students are taught. Throughout the ages, the world of education has been shaped by various types of philosophies, spanking a kid in class for instance that was accepted 100 years ago is not tolerated today anymore. Pupils nowadays spend more time with their teachers than even their own parents, which shows how key the role of a teacher is.

First of all I would like to highlight the fact that philosophies of  Education have been evolving with time, so will mine. The key I believe is to stay humble and teachable. I read somewhere that “the humble man makes room for progress, the proud man believes he is already there”. I believe that each person on earth has a specific destiny, has something to put on the table whether the person is into science, entertainment, or even arts.

My perspective is very much student-centered in a way that I promote creativity through imagination. I believe that a lot of students would do better when they are in an environment where imagination is encouraged. So many children find school dull, boring, I believe that communicating the excitement of imagining possibilities is a remedy.

As a teacher, I will be trying to encourage students to question their world, in other words to challenge common sense. I have noticed that a good percentage of the richest people on earth either dropped out of school at an early stage (either high school or first or second year of college), or went in a direction that was opposite to the crowd (taking high risks or simply challenging common sense). Today they are successful and have PHD holders working for them. The secret I have noticed is critical thinking and Imagination. The factory model of our education system can be a hindrance to creativity and innovation, so I will be encouraging my Students to ask questions and imagine. Practically I will be asking them questions such as “why are you guys in school? What is the purpose of school? Why wouldn’t you just stay home and learn from the Internet”? Or questions like “If money was not an issue (like you have all the money you need/want) and you know that you would be a success, what would you do (as a Career)”? The answer to such a question speaks of innate passions, inward desires, and I will encourage them to explore those. Or even questions like “If you could completely eradicate one problem in the world, what would it be?” then later “How would you go about it”? And many more.

I want them to leave the class with more than just 1+1=2.  Maxine Greene would say “part of teaching is helping people create themselves”. I also understand that we can only impart what we already have, reason why as a teacher I will be trying to walk in that kind of freedom myself beforehand.

Cemeteries are the richest places on earth because it is there that we find books that were never written, songs that were never sung, discoveries that were never shared, all because someone was too afraid to take that first step and to carry out their dreams. In other words I will be a gold digger in their lives.

 

 

Leave a Reply

